The Kitchen Counter Cooking School

Ok, so it’s official. Here’s the cover and the final title of the new book. Although originally titled Changing Courses, it has been shifted to The Kitchen Counter Cooking School: How Nine Culinary Novices Transformed Into Fearless Home Cooks. The book will debut in October 2011, and I’ll be on book tour most of the autumn. The book follows a project in which I tried to understand why people don’t cook at home. I enlisted a group of volunteers who let me pry into their fridges and cupboards and then, after a series of cooking lessons, agreed to a year’s worth of follow up. The results were both intriguing and surprising. But more than that, the project pushed me to think about what I believe not as someone trained in a culinary school, but as a home cook nourishing people I care about.

If you’re a journalist or blogger and you’d like to be added to the review copy list, drop an email to the KCCC team. We’re developing a full web site to go hand-in-hand with the book, including videos and lessons for home cooks. I’ll be announcing more events as they develop.

30 Comments

Filed under book two, Kitchen Counter Cooking School, kitchen tips

30 responses to “The Kitchen Counter Cooking School

  1. I love the idea of this — so looking forward to reading it. Congrats!

  2. Kim

    Congrats Kat! I think it looks awesome and love the idea of the accompanying website. Go forth and conquer! (again:))

  3. Looks like a marvelous book. Can’t wait to get it. I am a convert, now a cook-at-home person, and proud of it.

  4. How exciting! Can’t wait to read it… I too am intrigued by the idea that many people do not cook at home anymore. Congrats!

  5. Kathleen Flinn

    Thanks for the kind words, everyone. It’s funny, after studying fancy cuisine in Paris, I never quite expected I’d become an evangelist for simple home cooking…!

  6. Clare in Tampa

    Wow, I have been waiting and waiting… so excited for the new book! Such an amazingly timely topic, too. I started to cook about a year ago, and it has genuinely changed my life. I took a few cooking classes, including (on your suggestion) one class devoted to knife skills – what a life changer! I’m very interested to see what you found out.

    Please, please do an event in Tampa!

  7. Stephanie

    What a great idea for a book, and from your posts over the past year, one that I can tell you’re passionate about. I especially remember the posting for “Bullshit, Revisited.” I think that home cooking needs some championing. There is a lot of money spent on marketing to people to convince them they don’t need to cook.

  8. I can’t wait to read your book-love what you’re doing. I’m emailing you now to get on your KCCC list. I attended the IACP webinar yesterday, too. Happy Thursday!

  9. Loved the first book! Can’t wait for this one.

  10. Pingback: How Food and Cooking Can Save A Marriage | barbie cooking games

  11. Looks great! And what a timely subject, too.

  12. I really hope that you’ll make it back to Chicago. I missed all of your events there! The Sharper Your Knife is one of my favorite books of all time. So excited for this next one!

  13. dri

    I loved becoming a “fearless home cook”. Great title.

  14. Kathleen Flinn

    Dri! How funny, I was *just* reviewing video of you today! I watched your “before” and “after” videos… it’s amazing how changed. It also made me start having a crazy for roast chicken.

  15. Pingback: Galleys! | Kathleen Flinn

  16. I’m looking forward to reading this, it sound like a very interesting concept. I’m sure that there will be quite a lot of insight. Enjoyed meeting you tonight!

  17. Pingback: Apple, carrot and zucchini muffins « The Back 40

  18. Looking forward to the book, and I love the concept of the Kitchen Counter Cooking School. A lot of folks get intimidated by what some call “elite foodies,” and figure they’ll never learn to do it like the pros.

    Your site offers an alternative to that, by working with everyday things in a familiar setting. Great for beginners and and experienced cooks alike.
    You’re an inspiration to this humble cook. Thanks

  19. Great Idea!!! I loved the idea of Kitchen counter cooking schools and it is great approach towards encouraging aspiring learners in the field of cooking. Those who wish to get more information on cooking schools can visit this site.

    http://www.cookingclassesschools.com/

  20. Kathleen, I loved your first book and I am 25% through the new one. The book resonates with me. I think your book really touches a nerve. Congratulations on seeing a need and making the effort to fill it. Best of luck to you on the success of the book!

  21. Kris

    I purchased the ebook and started reading it on a plane ride home. For once I wished the plane ride was longer so I could read the book straight through! You are a master storyteller, as well as a wonderful teacher. Even though I have jet lag, I’m off to the store to get ingredients to cook a meal for my family tonight using your advice and recipes. Thanks for the inspiration!

  22. Pingback: The Kitchen Counter Cooking School, or how a Cordon Bleu graduate created her own cooking lessons | Josephine's Readers Advisory

  23. Pingback: The Kitchen Counter Cooking School, or how a Cordon Bleu graduate created her own cooking lessons | Josephine's Readers Advisory

  24. Lucie

    I just bought the book because I had read somewhere about it. I couldn’t put it down. I had most of the same problems the volunteers had, including weight problems for my daughter and me. Now, I can’t wait to start cooking at home more. Thank you, thank you.

  25. After completing the book, and loving it, I would say that even the most experienced cook would benefit from reading it. I was so inspired that I decided to give a copy of the book away on our little cooking blog. It is a great resource!

  26. n w

    I have read both of your books. All I can say is please don’t stop. I am looking forward to another and another.

  27. I picked up your book at an airport & read it cover to cover on the flight – just loved it – very inspiring! Although I’m a vegan and will likely never cut up a whole chicken, I loved your concepts and got great ideas on how I can be more efficient, and perhaps open my own food business oneday. Now I need to go order your first book! Thank you so much for sharing!

  28. Pingback: How to Lose Weight Learn to 'cook fearlessly' for a healthy 2013 - How to Lose Weight

Your thoughts?

