Let Them Eat Cake

There are not very many times that I read something and actually snort at them because they are so weirdly funny, like Jeff Houck’s reportage on going-away cakes for his blog at the Tampa Tribune. (He gets bonus points for the link to the infamous “cake scene” from the film Office Space.)

Worth noting, when I left my job as editor of the magazine Internet Underground for Microsoft (… waiting for you to reread that sentence, so you’ll appreciate this thoroughly… go ahead… yeah, it was an edgy magazine with the tag “covering the cool side of the ‘net” and I went to Microsoft … now you understand how horrified my co-workers were at this move …) they gave me a cake that said something like:

Congrats! You’ve sold your soul to Bill Gates! We’ll Miss You!

It was actually a delicious cake. Carrot with cream cheese, if I remember. Come to think of it, I didn’t get a leaving cake from Microsoft.
Leave a comment

Filed under food blogs, food news, Rants and raves

Your thoughts?

