Elliott Bay Books Reading

On Monday night, a dream of mine for more than a decade was finally met. I read at the venerable Elliott Bay Book Co., the big daddy of independent bookstores here in Seattle.

From 1996 to 1999, I lived and worked in the city’s Pioneer Square neighborhood. I lived in a loft across the street from the store in the historic Lucknow Building, my bedroom window just above Waterfall Park. Over the years, I’ve been going to the store to watch authors give talks, including my idol Ruth Reichl, plus memorable nights with Margaret Atwood, Jeannette Walls and Douglas Coupland, to name a few. I’ve stood in line to have my books signed dozens of times. On Monday night, it was my turn. With a full house, one studded with some of my closest friends, I gave probably the best talk that I’ve done anywhere on my tour. I want to thank everyone who came out on Monday for being such a wonderful audience.

In a unique twist, we gave out prizes for culinary trivia questions. Prizes ranged from huckleberry taffy from Alaska to an authentic tea towel from Le Cordon Bleu in Paris. Here’s your chance to play, too. Simply post your answers in a comment to this blog. Correct or not, a week from Friday, I’ll select one commentor at random and send him/her a signed copy of the book. Bon chance.

Trivia Questions
In what form did Le Cordon Bleu begin back in 1895?
a) Formal cooking school for apprentices
b) magazine
c) dining club for Parisians

Which of these oils are not made from its key substance?
a) olive oil
b) grapeseed oil
c) truffle oil

In what year did Auguste Escoffier publish his famed Le Guide Cuilinaire?
a) 1703
b) 1803
c) 1903

Did Chicken Cordon Bleu originate at the famous cooking school?
True
False
Leave a comment

Filed under appearances and gigs, book tour tales, culinary school, culinary trivia, Le Cordon Bleu

Your thoughts?

