Earning those air miles…

It’s been a great weekend for events, and after crossing the entire country, I think I’ve officially passed the mark to keep my frequent flyer status on Alaska Airlines!

On Friday, I boarded a plane from Seattle to St. Louis to take part in The Big Read, the annual book festival. I had an early slot, and the crowd was a bit light at first. But by the time I was done, I was grateful for the early slot as the heat and humidity began to crank up in earnest. I met up with Stephanie, a fellow IACP member. We went for a lovely bistro lunch and then she and her boyfriend even drove me to the airport.

Saturday night, after coming down from Tampa, my sister, mother, niece and a cousin visiting from upstate hung out, making pasta at our house on the island. I haven’t been here since April. Back then, I planted a ton of plants. With all the summer rain, they’ve exploded in the yard.

On Sunday, I drove down to Fort Myers to take part in a house party with Slow Food of Southwest Florida. The party took place in a lovingly restored old Florida cottage named the Nutting House. The food was lovely, and so were the 45+ attendees.

Next week, I’ll be in Chicago. I’m doing a couple of house parties and also doing a public event at the Borders in Oak Park on Tuesday, the 21st October at 7 p.m. On Saturday, the 25th, I’ll be the 16th Annual Northwest Women’s Show in Portland. I’ll be doing the first talk on Saturday at 10:30 a.m., and later doing an hour-long cooking demo on French cooking (on a budget) from 3:30 to 4:30 p.m. Hopefully, people will not leave in droves to go over to the Firemen’s Fashion Show…

Now, for a few days of writing. I’m working on book two, and I’ve had a terrible time with writer’s block lately.

Leave a comment

Filed under appearances and gigs, book tour tales, cool food events

Your thoughts?

