President Obama

For weeks, I’ve been a wreck. Anxious about the election, unable to sleep, drinking too much wine, distracted from writing. The last two elections, I was an absentee voter in a particular way — I lived abroad, first in London, then in Paris. This election is the first one that I’ve experienced from start to finish since the the 1990s. That’s likely the cause for my anxiety.

Today, I made fresh baguettes. In talking to other friends, I found four others also baking. Perhaps something to do with restless, nervous energy?

No matter what side you were rooting for, it’s hard not to admit that this election yielded a historic turn of event. I thought of this poem by the African-American poet Langston Hughes. As a food writer, I felt that it my duty to offer it here. God bless America, and bon appetit

I, too, sing America.
I am the darker brother.
They send me to eat in the kitchen
When company comes,
But I laugh,
And eat well,
And grow strong.

Tomorrow,
I’ll be at the table
When company comes.
Nobody’ll dare
Say to me,”Eat in the kitchen,”

Then. Besides,
They’ll see how beautiful I am
And be ashamed for
I, too, am America.

Leave a comment

Filed under election, obama, Rants and raves

Your thoughts?

