The obligatory Thanksgiving round-up

Country Living's "classic" menu

I had to stop into my local supermarket yesterday to pick up two bottles of Prosecco — and a pack of new kitchen sponges as that’s the kind of thrilling dichotomy that rules my life. The place was packed, a veritable fury of shopping activity. At first, I couldn’t figure out the 20-person deep checkout lines. Then, the dawn. It’s the weekend before Thanksgiving.

A select few know about my slightly disturbing fascination with supermarkets. What’s in food stores and what people choose to purchase intrigues me endlessly. So I casually eavesdropped on a conversations and peeked into a few carts. One thing that I noticed was the number of printouts people had in their hands. “I got this off a blog,” a woman near the brussel sprouts told her boyfriend. “The photo looks good. I hope it works.”

While I was walking around the store, a friend called asking for Thanksgiving advice and to ask what I was making — the fourth such call that I’ve fielded in two days. Two of them Thanksgiving virgins making a full holiday spread for the first time this year.  I bought that pair the book Thanksgiving 101 by Rick Rodgers. It’s comprehensive and explains everything step-by-step from roasting a turkey to making pan gravy to stock. I think I’ve given this book to about a half-dozen people in two years.

I really have no idea what I’m making yet. I’ve been coming across a lot of interesting stories and resources online, so here’s a few in no particular order.

Should you decide that you’d like to bone and stuff an entire turkey, you can check out my past Thanksgiving exploits. The one thing that I know that I’ll be making next weekend? Turkey gumbo. I make it every year after we’ve exhausted our appetite for turkey sandwiches and picked the carcass nearly clean. I agree to a point with a writer who made a case against going too crazy with trying to disguise that leftover meat last year in Slate.

Have some good Thanksgiving recipes on your blog or a good go-to site? Feel free to leave in the comments.

2 Comments

Filed under food writing, holidays

2 responses to “The obligatory Thanksgiving round-up

  1. Alphonse de Klerk

    I enjoy looking at you work. Nicely presented
    and photographed.

  2. Wow, it’s overwhelming, isn’t it? Thanks for all these links, I’ll be sure to pass them on. I still don’t know my menu for T-day. Turkey? Ya think?

Your thoughts?

