Registration Open for “Hungry for Words” Food Writing Weekend May 18-19.

Registration opened this week for the two-day introduction to food writing weekend that I call “Hungry for Words.” I’ll be teaching this intensive, hands-on session at the Richard Hugo House in Seattle. Cost is $290 for Hugo House members, $261 for non-members. I also ask for $22 from each student to cover breakfast both days, lunch on Saturday and wine and cheese in the afternoons. Class size is limited to 15 and it generally sells out, so if you’re interested, jump on it right away. We cover a lot of territory, from the history of food writing, writing with all five senses, the fundamentals of recipe writing, how to put together a book proposal, food blogging, and breaking into food writing as a career among the topics covered. Here’s where you sign up.

I’m finalizing a second food writing weekend in Washington, D.C. The tentative dates will be June 22-23rd. That session will be sponsored jointly by the famed bookstore Politics & Prose and The Writer’s Center. Details on that when sign-ups begins. If you want to be put on a list to notify you when I’ll be teaching various food writing sessions, just drop me an email.

4 Comments

Filed under food writing

4 responses to “Registration Open for “Hungry for Words” Food Writing Weekend May 18-19.

  1. Laura Wilson

    Hi Kathleen,

    I cannot attend this year, but am very interested for the future. I am the one who has written to you you in the past who attended Le Cordon Bleu for patisserie. I have one more intensive session to do this winter, as I had to miss last year for TOTAL knee replacements. Now I am ready to hit those Metro stairs!

    Thanks, Laura Wilson

    ladolcevita139@aol.com

    • Kathleen Flinn

      Oh, how exciting! I’m going to try to do more food writing coursework in the next couple of years, so definitely check in with me. I love to teach; I always learn so much from it.

  2. Ginger Garza

    Hi!

    Looked at the website and prices show:

    Instructor: Kathleen Flinn Course Type: Two Day Class Meeting Dates Term: Spring 2013 Date: Sat, 05/18/2013 – 9:00am – 5:30pm Date: Sun, 05/19/2013 – 9:30am – 5:00pm Member Price: $261.00 General Public Price: $290.00

    Thought you might want to know.

    Ginger

Your thoughts?

