Upcoming Works-in-Progress Readings with Food, Cocktails, Prizes and More

Chapters deep into my next book, a memoir with recipes from my Midwest childhood, I’m ready to hear feedback on what I’ve spent months – and in some ways – a lifetime pulling together. So I’m planning a couple works-in-progress readings at Seattle’s Richard Hugo House for Tuesday, March 19, and Wednesday, April 17. Friends and family kindly offered invaluable advice on my first two books. Readings for the new book, tentatively titled Burnt Toast Makes You Sing Good (slated for publication by Viking/Penguin in early 2014), will be open to the public for the first time.

We’ll taste samples of recipes from the upcoming book, some fun door prizes and a few signed cookbooks that you can purchase as part of the silent auction. Cash bar and free food begin at 6:30, reading starts at 7 p.m. with a short break at 7:45. We’ll finish up around 8:45 p.m. The event is free. Bring a friend. Each reading will have different material, so feel free to come to both! To help me with numbers, it would be great if you could RSVP.

2 Comments

Filed under food writing, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Upcoming Works-in-Progress Readings with Food, Cocktails, Prizes and More

  1. Lisa Ryskoski

    So wish I lived in Seattle! I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of kitchen counter cooking school thru Goodreads.com. If you are looking for early reviewers, I would love to read and post a review for you on goodreads and/or Amazon.

    Have a great day and looking forward to your next release! Sent from my iPhone

  2. I second Lisa above–if only I were in Seattle, I’d absolutely love to head over to Hugo House!! Is there any way that you could open this open to long-distance option? Of course, I’m still bummed to miss out on the sure-to-be delicious food, but would *love* to still hear/see/read the work-in-progress.
    Two ideas:
    1. Create a skype-in option? (Is this even possible for many people to dial in at once? I’m so not tech-savvy)
    2. Share the parts you’ll read online in some limited (or not) manner?

    So excited for you and for the new book. Yay!

Your thoughts?

